Naval Tradition @ 1946

With sincere thanks to Jeanne, this post shows what “OUR NAVY’ magazine included as U.S. Naval tradition and humor in their September and December 1946 issues.

#############################################################################

Military Humor – 

“When they were building her, there was an argument whether to make her a sub or a carrier, so they compromised.”

“Three battleships on my chest, please.”

#############################################################################

Farewell Salutes – 

Nancy Cox Allen (100) – Mansfield, OH; US Navy WAVES, WWII, Yeoman 2nd Class

US Flag at Half-staff, courtesy of Dan Antion

Colin Arslanbas – MO; USMC, SGT., Maritime Special Purpose Force/24th Expeditionary Unit, KWS (Camp Lejeune)

Raymond Casatelli (100) – Utica, NY; US Army, WWII, ETO

Austin Dishmon – Lancaster, CA; US Army, Lithuania, 3rd Infantry Division, KWS

David H. Frank – Colorado Springs, CO; US Air Force, 694 Security Squadron, recon C-130 pilot / Norad, Space Commander, Lt. Colonel (Ret.)

Marcus Jordon – Jacksonville, FL; US Air Force, Senior Airman, 38th Rescue Squadron, KWS (Guam)

Gerald L. Lester – Port Angeles, WA; USMC, Vietnam, Sgt. Major, Purple Heart

Miguel Maya – TX; USMC, Cpl., Avionics technicin, Marine Helicopter Light Attack Training Sq. 303, KWS (Camp Pendleton)

Carl E. Patterson – Falls Church, VA; US Aarmy Air Corps, WWII, B-24 & B-26 pilot / Korea, Air Force Audit Agency / Vietnam, Colonel (Ret. 30 y.)

James L. Shaw – Maplewood, MN; US Army, Sgt. Major

Gary W. Trople – Bozeman, MT; USMC, Vietnam

############################################################################

#############################################################################

About GP

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GP is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on April 29, 2024, in Post WWII, Uncategorized, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 102 Comments.

  1. GP, a beloved Midway volunteer shipmate, and Korean era Navy vet, Hal Simmons passed away on May 4. He was in 1952-56 and was trained to work with aviation radar. Please include Hal in your Farewell salutes. After his longtime wife passed away, Hal volunteered on the Midway, working more than 40 hours a week. The Midway became his new family. He will be sorely missed. I plan to re-run his Angel Flight interview from 2019 tomorrow, if it is not too late to have him included on your blog. If I see it, I will add a link. Thanks for whatever you can do.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have read many things that were unknown to me. We indeed need to put more humor into our lives. I have been on holiday and I will read the messages later.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Americaoncoffee

    Historical glimpses are very informing. I cannot imagine where our military is heading.😳

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I laughed at the snippet titled “The Beautiful and the Brave.” It was the phrase “late unpleasantness” that got me. I’ve sometimes used the phrase “the recent unpleasantness” to refer to things like the pandemic. Now I’m wondering if I might have picked it up from my elders, who used the phrase during their war years.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad there are still copies of those old magazines around. The ice ship was quite interesting, especially since there really were plans for it. At first, I thought it was just a cartoon but now I know it is real. Nice that people could have a sense of humor about the war back then. That’s probably what kept them going.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. This made me smile!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Surely the ‘Ice Carrier’ must have been satirical? Good crop of military funnies, GP!

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. The “ice carrier” was a concept developed by an eccentric inventor named Pyke. He created a material he called “Pykrete,” that consisted of ~14% sawdust and 86% ice, cheap materials. The sawdust gave it great strength and also served as insulation. Proposed for the North Atlantic, it was very slow, but axis planes wouldn’t be able to destroy it with bombs. Long range planes made the concept obsolete. Wankerpedia has an article on it, and Mythbusters built a small prototype.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. You saw these ancient old images in Naval 1946 . Anita

    Like

  10. Spark of Inspiration

    How great that she had a copy of this!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thanks for the post. It is a blessing

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Great collection! Humour goes a long way to bring cheer to our hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hmm, I dunno about an air craft carrier made of ice

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thanks for sharing this informative look at Traditions of the Navy. Gotta wonder what was the though process behind the ice carrier.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ah yes, Habakkuk. A bizarre idea that could have actually worked quite well. The theories are solid, and Geoffrey Pyke’s “Pykrete” was genius. I’ve actually used a variation, using sawdust from an Amish sawmill and ash from our wood-burning furnace, and mixed it with muddy ground in front of our house to produce a hard parking surface for the wife. Did it years ago, and the area is still solid.

    Submarine and aircraft carrier? Japanese I-400 class submarine, anyone? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s still solid? Whoa, I should have known. That generation was so ingenious!

      Like

      • By the by, if you have an interest in carriers crossed with cruisers and battleships, you can check out some US Navy designs (drawn up but never built) at shipscribe.com under the titles of “US Navy Spring Styles” – so named after the fashion catalogs of the periods displaying new dresses and clothing. Also a lot of cool, more traditional gun ship designs, including a number of battlecruiser designs and upsized versions of the Alaska-class super-heavy cruisers.

        And a quick story for you, of my dad. I once picked up a bunch of EE-8 field phones at a flea market, a few of which didn’t work. I took one to my dad, a veteran of the Bell System. I walked in the door with it in my hand, he spotted it, grabbed it from my hand – grinning in recognition – and tore off down to his workbench. By the time I got my coat off and went downstairs, he had it disassembled and diagnosed – wearing one of the biggest smiles I ever saw! I wish I remembered 1% of what he taught me, or knew 1% of what he did. “Greatest generation”, indeed!

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Plenty of humor here, G. I thought maybe the ice ship was a spoof. Apparently, it wasn’t. Obviously it was a bad idea then, imagine what it would be like in the age of global warming.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. What on earth were they expecting from a carrier made of ice. I wouldn’t want to land (or live) on that flat top, under any conditions!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I like the cartoons, they are different than the usual cartoons!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Churchill been drinking again?
    Nice to have the acknowledgement for the yachts doing coastguard duty ‘during the late unpleasantness…’!

    Liked by 2 people

  20. The aircraft carrier of ice…guess that would be a limited radius to serve within.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Hadn’t heard of this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. An aircraft carrier made of ice? Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. The tattoo one reminded me that when the two oldest brothers joined the Navy (1934), their parents asked them to never get tattoos. They didn’t!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Fun post. That sailor wanting the battleship on his chest, may have been my favorite. I think I have met that guy at least once in the past (I’m talking physical shape, not the tattoo–you want to ask him when he is due.) The floating ice cube carrier was fun. Until I read it I wondered if it was part of Operation Frostbite https://www.usni.org/magazines/proceedings/1946/september/operation-frostbite-strategic-success

    The USS Midway (CV-41) and three destroyers went up to the Arctic Circle in 1946 to see how the Navy would do in a polar environment.

    Liked by 2 people

  25. I wouldn’t want to be landing on an ice deck, GP. These were fun to read, though.

    Like

  26. How humour has changed

    Like

  27. I read about the ice carrier in the book Nuking the Moon

    Book by Vince Houghton.
    The book is a collection of weird military and spy plans that (thank God) never left the drawing board. Very interesting reading.

    Liked by 6 people

  28. Although the iceberg ship was a serious plan, it’s ironically the funniest item in this humorous collection.

    Liked by 4 people

  29. Thank you, Ned.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Naval Tradition @ 1946 – pikaale.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Naval Tradition @ 1946 | Ned Hamson's Second Line View of the News

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.