Memorial Day 2017

MEMORIAL DAY.

WHO DO YOU SAY THANK YOU TO?

Should you care to see Memorial Day posts from past years ____

Michael’s Tree – planted by Lavinia & Rick Ross in honor of my son, Michael USMC.

2016

2015(1) and 2015 (2)

2014

2013

#######################################################################################

Farewell Salutes –

Jacob Baboian – Watertown, MA; US Army, WWII, ETO

Thomas Coughlin – Portland, OR; US Army, WWII, Corps of Engineers

Lamar Day – Salt Lake City, UT; US Navy, WWWII, PTO, USS John Pope

Edward Flora – Mishawaka, IN; US Army Air Corps, WWII, A/674th Artillery/11th Airborne Division

Earle Garlinger – Roswell, NM; US Army Air Corps, WWII, (Ret. 21 years)

Harold Kline – Charlotte, NC; US Army Air Corps, WWII, ETO, 737th/454/15th Air Force

James O’Leary – Manchester, NH; USMC, WWII, Korea, Vietnam, Cuban Missile Crisis

Michael Sadlo – Hollywood, FL; USMC, Pfc

Everett Smith – Broad Channel, NY; US Army Air Corps, WWII, PTO, HQ/187th/11th Airborne Division

Vartan Torosian – Pleasant Hill, CA; US Army Air Corps, WWII, PTO, 188th/11th Airborne Division

Albert Washington Jr. – Midland, TX; USMC, WWII, PTO

####################################################################################

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on May 29, 2017, in Current News, First-hand Accounts, Home Front, Korean War, Vietnam, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 122 Comments.

  1. I never fail to appreciate Memorial Days gp, therein lies our history that shapes the future for younger generations, sadly our new generations have a different slant on what is entailed in fighting for ones country.
    Thanks mate, that video is a valuable learning tool for those that still aspire to understand the meaning of Freedom.
    Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Ian. I went to the cemetery on Memorial Day – always a chilling experience – ALL those flags and my father and son among them. I’m sure a friend took care of my uncle’s grave at Riverside, CA. He is also forever in my thoughts along with their fellows.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been to MD at Margraten Holland couple of years ago. Had to work this- and last year I do remember it as is was yesterday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Blessed all who Serve. And Served.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is sometimes very difficult for me to read your blog. These videos, for instance, made me cry. The sacrifices for us have been overwhelming. With saber rattling by North Korea, 1500 of our troops heading to Afghanistan this summer, and renewed attacks by ISIS the danger is all too real. Meanwhile, politicians in both parties seem to be throwing away our freedoms with both hands. It breaks my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • All very true, Anna. Though I am very sorry I made you, it does makes me feel good that you have such emotion and concern for our troops.
      The way they behave, you’d think the universe operated by the rules of our political parties!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello, I know you have many posts to see, but I wanted you to see my Memorial Day post. Good day to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel and commented:
    Let us always remember… even when it’s not Memorial Day.
    Powerful videos!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh wow! Thanks for sharing. I had tears in my eyes and was tingling all over. Powerful!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for this wonderful post. Those are very moving videos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t find the right words, so I let the veterans and the pictures do that for me. Thank you for taking the time to honor those who took so much time to protect all of us.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. We will never forget those who paid the ultimate price.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I liked the first graphic of all the wars, G. But I would take it all the way back to the Revolutionary War. –Curt

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very true. I did include that one picture I found and put it in the slideshow for those veterans. We have quite the history; that’s why I get so riled by people who try to change or erase it.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Reblogged this on PenneyVanderbilt and commented:
    An important day in our lives

    Like

  12. I salute you and everyone that has worn or will wear a uniform and defend our country and freedom

    Like

    • I appreciate your feelings, but i do not wish to mislead anyone – I did not serve. When I told my father I wanted to enlist, it was the first and only time he said NO to me. I believe it was because it was the height of the Vietnam War. I was over there a very short time, but with the press.

      Like

  13. I completely forgot that over there in the U.S you had memorial day yesterday, I do know you do have memorial day, here in Spain is very different, no memorials.
    The first video has got to make you mad when you hear that teenagers screwed up some memorial type of thing.
    If it wasn’t for the Americans where would the world be? You are not perfect for sure, but definately having lived there half of my life I can say that if I had the change to move back there I wouldn’t think it twice.
    Great tribut as always.

    Liked by 2 people

    • More people here should hear you say that!!!

      Like

      • In my opininon, I think most of the people in the U.S don’ t know how good they have it, again not perfect, but in my opinion certainly most better than in my country, and in my personal experience if I had made the right decisions when i was over there I could have been the nexr Bill Gates, maybe not that much but point being is that I had much more opportunity there than here. Just the system you got, I don’ t need the government hand to help me, and that is what I love about your country, you make it on your own and not be dependent on the government, plus it was memorial day there and as a former soldier having not seen hald of what your soldiers have been through i do appreciate it, believe that after the shit I went through so I can so and so imagine what those american soldiers went

        Like

        • Thank you for all your comments. Yes, I agree, we are not perfect, but so far – we’re still the best in my opinion [and obviously yours too]. I try to show by example, but I’m afraid I can only be seen and heard by so many – others refuse to listen.

          Liked by 1 person

      • Agreed. I was wondering whether Smitty’s “travels” took him to Iwo Jima. This post was made because like the CBI theater, many vicious and costly battles were never given proper recognition.
        Peleliu was another one; a terrible snafu thanks to MacArthur.
        https://profilesincourage.wordpress.com/2016/08/22/36-days-of-hell-iwo-jima/

        Like

        • Not trying to split hairs here, but the set-up in the huge Pacific was very different from Europe. Operation Stalemate [Peleliu] was a Navy/Marine campaign and not under the plans by MacArthur. No, Smitty was US Army Air Corps, after hitting 3 Philippine islands, he would go on to Okinawa and then as part of Gen. Swing’s staff, one of the first to step into Japan; he never saw Iwo Jima.

          Like

  14. A fantastic celebration for all this man and woman doing this al for their country .Beautiful clips touching the heart od so much people

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This is a really amazing heartfelt post. Here’s to hoping one day all wars will cease to exist, and we can live in peace so we do not have to lay down our respective military members to rest.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Thank you for this post, GP!

    I was out and about on Memorial Day and I got to thank some veterans in person. Men wearing hats and shirts and uniforms that told about their service to our country. It was an honor to thank people I’ve never met before, but greatly appreciate.

    I’d like to share this video with you, and with all of our military…past, present, and future. The video is called “Home”.

    (((HUGS))) 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  17. You are very welcome, I think you are quite remarkable for all you do.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Thank you, GP, for always honoring our service men. I appreciate your continued hard work to bring us war history & remembrance posts. 🇺🇸 Christine

    Liked by 1 person

  19. A beautiful tribute again this Memorial Day, GP. It’s hard to contain the emotions when one realizes the price paid for our freedom. 🇺🇸🗽

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Linda. But you see, I didn’t write very much, I let the veterans explain what they did rather than me telling people – I think that made the difference. From those that were there…..

      Liked by 1 person

  20. That was s omoving. Thank you for the witness you bear.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. As always a very touching Blog, you work so hard to maintain this and to show us that We Must Always Remember All Those that Sacrificed so much for us. NEVER FORGET. I have reblogged you, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Reblogged this on Anna Cottage and commented:
    Its always so important to Remember All Those wherever they are from, they are always someone’s Son/Daughter or Mother/Father/Sister/Brother/Cousin/Friend. We cannot say THANK YOU enough. This is truly a very touching moving Blog. Should be read.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I can say this is an amazing post now that I’ve stopped crying. Thank you for sharing on this special day. I thank my husband, my uncle, and several friends for serving and my two uncles for making the ultimate sacrifice. And, I thank ‘you’ for your special blog and the time you invest in reminding us about all the heroes who gave so much to keep us safe.

    Liked by 2 people

  24. Mr. Cox, I think your entire site serves as a very commendable Memorial and commemoration, throughout the whole year. I’ve been learning a lot (and it’s even made me think about a few things, which I generally avoid like the plague!) So best regards for Memorial Day 2017, RPT.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Marvellous how the boys’ attention was grabbed

    Liked by 1 person

  26. As always I appreciate the names in the Sallus and I stand and have tears I thank you for sharing this information with me and so many others your work is important and valuable for all times.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Dear GP Cox,
    As I’ve already said on other blogs: as a German born 2 years after WWII, I’ve always been and will always be grateful to those heroes that gave their lives so that I could grow up and live in freedom.
    Have a great week,
    Pit

    Like

  28. As I’ve already said on other blogs: as a German born 2 years after WWII, I’ve always been and will always be grateful to those heroes that gave their lives so that I could grow up and live in freedom.

    Like

  29. A quiet day here, overcast and misty. Remembering with gratitude all those who have served. Thank you for your part in keeping their memories alive, GP.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. We say thank you to the families of the fallen and survivors on Memorial Day. You did a great tribute. Thank you ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Two great videos. Thank you, GP.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Yesterday, I helped one of my readers, new to Houston, find the primary memorial ceremonies here in town, at the National Cemetery. Doing that — helping someone who wanted to participate in remembrance do so –was a satisfying way of marking the occasion. Thanks for all you do, to help people remember.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. To those who have given their lives for us is such a testimony of the words “to lay down ones life for another” Christ did it for us and these heroes do it so we can have a great country to have a “respectful memorial day”.

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Heart-felt tributes of respect and gratitude for the service of our veterans.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Reblogged this on Circadianreflections Blog and commented:
    I’m sharing the post GP Cox put together. It’s a beautiful and poignant post today in Remembrance of Memorial Day, and all those who served…for us.

    Never forget!

    Liked by 1 person

  36. I always feel weird saying “happy” before any day of remembrance. So, I will wish you and our veterans across the globe my sincere thanks and gratitude.

    Liked by 3 people

  37. Thank you for this post. Never forget. Always say thank you. (Apologies for my name error yesterday, GP).

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Thank you for this post. Never forget. Always say thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  39. They remain a powerful presence in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  40. I will thank all who came to bring freedom back… and I’m grateful forever … even when some european leaders forgot to say thank you today and poisoned this day with ungratefulness…

    Liked by 1 person

  41. I hope you have an enjoyable Memorial Day, GP. You do great service to the Armed Forces on this blog.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

  42. I appreciate this, the veterans deserve respect and remembrance.

    Like

  43. Thank you Lavinia and Rick!!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Rick and Lavinia Ross Farm & Music Newsletter for June 2017 | Salmon Brook Farms

  2. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

  3. Pingback: There Were Wonderful To Beyond Post Of Memorial Day Today – My Daily Musing

  4. Pingback: Memorial Day 2017 | Circadianreflections Blog

Leave a Reply

