Home Front – Wartime Recipes # 6

We often discuss the food our parents and grandparents dined on, despite rationing and wartime, they ate quite well – here are some of the recipes you might want to try out.  (especially in this age of inflation).

Please thank Carolyn on her website for putting these delicious meals on-line!  Now – you can even download her cookbook for free by clicking Right Here!!

Recipe 166: Jam Tarts

Recipe 167: Mock Black Pudding

Recipe 168: Baked Fruit Pie

Cheese, Potato & Onion Pie

Recipe 169: Cheese, Potato & Onion Pie

Recipe 170: Eggless Chocolate Sponge

Recipe 171: Blackberry Shortbread

Recipe 172: Cheese Frizzles

Recipe 173: Blackberry & Elderberry Jam

Oatmeal stuffing

Recipe 174: Oatmeal Stuffing

Recipe 175: Flap Jack

Recipe 177: Apple & Rhubarb Crumble

Recipe 178: Green Mint Sauce

Recipe 179: Potato Salad with Dutch Sauce

Potato Salad w/ Dutch sauce

Recipe 180: Marrow Chutney

Recipe 181: Marrow & Lentil Stew

Recipe 182: Kensington Rarebit

Recipe 183: Lentil Sheperd’s Pie(Pandemic Pantry Submission)

Recipe 184: Blackcurrant Jam

Recipe 185: Piccalilli

Recipe 186: WW1 Ration Scones

Recipe 187: Hot Cross Buns

Recipe 188: Bread and Butter Pickles

Recipe 189: Wartime Spiced Biscuits

Recipe 190: Blackcurrant & Bramley Apple Jam

If anyone has a recipe, especially one from their parents or even older – feel free to add them in the comments – and Thank You!

Dolly shares her grandmother’s recipes HERE – they all look outstanding!!

Sheryl shares 100-year old recipes HERE!

##############################################################################

Military Humor – 

##############################################################################

Farewell Salutes – 

Jack Bowman (100) – Ottawa, CAN; RC Air Force, WWII, 6th Bomber Command Group, mechanic

Frank Garrison – Auburn, AL; US Army, Korea, Colonel, 45th Infantry Division, Silver Star, Purple Heart

Franklin H. Gietzel (102) – Madison, WI; US Army Air Corps, WWII, Korea & Vietnam, Lt. Colonel, pilot

Steven K. Hoff – Milledgeville, Ga; US Army, Gulf War, Sgt. (Ret. 20 y.)

Kenneth Joyce – Maple City, MI; US Air Force, Vietnam, Bronze Star / Pentagon Colonel (Ret.)

Paul McEvoy – Timonium, MD; US Navy, WWII; USS New Jersey, electrician

Howard T. Reedy – Beresford, SD; US Navy, WWII, corpsman

Joseph White, Charleston, SC; US Air Force, MSgt. (Ret. 23 y.)

Floyd N. York (100) – Roslyn, NY; US Merchant Marines, WWII

Peter Zielenski – Tulsa, OK; US Army, Vietnam, 4th & 6th Infantry Divisions /  Pentagon, Lt. Colonel (Ret.)

############################################################################################

MORE COFFEE !!

#########################################################################################

About GP

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GP is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on September 25, 2023, in Home Front, Uncategorized, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 146 Comments.

  1. Wow, GP. These are great! Thanks for sharing. 👏🏻👏🏻

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Mom never used a recipe. She canned everything in the summer, so we ate well in the winter. Her canned tomatoes turned into tomato gravy, while her canned mixed vegetables became the best vegetable soup ever when she added some meat and potatoes. It’s amazing all the time and effort required for fixing a meal.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fun post, GP. Thanks for the links to the recipes. My dad used to make rarebit and I’d forgotten all about it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for sharing these. My church has a monthly potluck, and we just spent lunch reminiscing about the foods of our childhood. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Old time recipes would make a great theme for a future potluck! I go to a particular restaurant because they make lamb shank just like my mother made it – happy childhood memories!!

      Like

  5. It’s interesting to see the amount of jams and sweets. I thought the potato salad was interesting with the dutch sauce using mil and flower together as a thickener. That is clever! Thx again for a reminder of how it was back in the war days!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I enjoy cooking and baking and found this list of recipes really interesting, GP. So many interesting aspects to cooking from those days, the foods they had, often from a garden, the rations, etc. Thanks very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love old recipes!!! This was absolutely fun to peruse.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I LOVE that you’re sharing these. Wartime rationing radically changed the way people ate and prepared foods. I run my family’s FB page where I create a “newspaper” each month (dated sometime in the 1940s) made from letters written by my great-grandmother and her boys in the military… Something that often comes up in her writing is ingredients that were unavailable, supplies they were forced to get on the black market, and people trading their ration coupons. Here’s a website that I often refer to to add a time-appropriate recipe to the “food section” of my “newspaper” (and it specifically covers ration foods): https://recipecurio.com/category/rations/ 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  9. All I remember from the immediate post-war years, G, were casseroles! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oldies but goodies.. fun to see these recipes💖

    Liked by 1 person

  11. My War bride English Mum was the champ of this unique English (cough) cuisine. But we loved it.

    Here’s a couple GP that folks mighta forgot:

    – Creamed Eggs on Toast (O MAN!! – assumes you could get eggs)
    – Apple Pie with Hot Custard on top!!! MMMM … (Assumes you get apples. I know that doesn’t sound appealing, but it was great)
    Cheers !!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Bread N Butter Pickles! A Thanksgiving Day tradition/staple in our family. You know, something sweet with the savory items.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thanks for the recipes.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thanks, GP. I still make old family recipes.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. have to try some of these.
    Love the “permanently exhausted pigeon”!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I will no doubt have to try these!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I still have a ration book of my mother’s. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Marrow Chutney? No thank you. Interestingly I was reading a medical article recently about the number of people suffering back pain these days and there was a school of thought that we weren’t eating marrow as our parents did. My folks loved the stuff, in oxtail casserole and lamb shanks. No no no…..

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Sounds like people enjoyed yummy food even in wartime😋👍

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Since I don’t go out much anymore, this is a good selection of recipes for me to try. My weakness, those sweets! I’ll try those first. Great for my teatime. Thanks to you and Carolyn for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. There are some recipes from the past that appeal to me and that I will try out

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Thanks for the link!
    Some yummy recipes that look fun to make! Just the names of some of them bring back good memories. 🙂
    (((HUGS))) ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I love your recipe of this potato pie 🥧. Your recipes are so amazing 👏. Anita

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Some of these look great today, Thanks, GP. As a side note, looking at Farewell Salutes, I am struck with the fact that the Greatest Generation is slipping away. God bless them.

    Liked by 2 people

  25. Bit of humor here; long ago I posted an item on web address goofs. Found here: https://partneringwitheagles.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/bad-domain-names/
    This “1940’s experiment’s” web address could be misconstrued…
    https://the1940sexperiment.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  26. WW1 scones, cool, GP.
    I am afraid that even coffee won’t help us here in Viking Land.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. You’ve made me hungry with these recipes.😊

    Liked by 1 person

  28. I have my grandmother’s recipe for mock apple pie. Ritz crackers stand in for the apples.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. We ate at home when I was growing up. My mother and her sisters made a lot of foods like these. A trip out to Howard Johnson was a special occasion only, although I do remember Friendly Ice Cream shops in summer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  30. My mum was fond of telling me how they made the rationed food last during WW2 in London. At the time, they had no refigerator, so had to use a ‘Meat Safe’ on a marble slab to keep things fresh. Sugar was such a luxury, that after it came off rationing my mum went crazy for sweet foods and cakes, a craving that lasted the rest of her life.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Some the food sounds good, GP. I love Mexican food and never fly any aircraft… 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Recently, my wife made pastry for a savoury pie from potatoes, and that was surprisingly tasty!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wonder if she’d part with the recipe?

      Like

      • She said…..

        9 ounces of self-raising white flour
        Four ounces of butter
        Five ounces of mashed potato
        Pinch of salt
        One egg beaten

        Rub the butter into the flour

        Add the mashed potato and salt and mix well

        Add the beaten egg

        Knead this on a floured board until it is soft and elastic

        Roll it out to half an inch and place it on top of a chicken and bacon casserole.

        Cook as for pastry.

        Good luck !!!

        Liked by 1 person

        • THANK YOU!! I appreciate you taking the time to bring the recipe to us, John!!
          Between your recipe and the other ones on the list, I need to pick up potatoes, they’re on my shopping list!

          Like

          • Do you have different types of potato in the USA. Over here, we do, and my wife said she always used “KIng Edwards” or “Maris Piper”. She did confess, though, that that was because they were easy to find!!

            Liked by 1 person

            • Yes, we have many. I looked up your varieties and believe it or not, there’s a site for American subsitutes. I suppose just about everything is on the internet, eh? Thanks for your help, John!!

              Liked by 1 person

  33. Great list of recipes. We don’t order in that often (almost never) so these just might give me some variety.

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Love the toons and the recipes. Got turned around and thought yesterday was Monday so I searched for your post before realizing I was off by a day. 🤔😉

    Liked by 1 person

  35. That cheese, potato, and onion pie appealed to me, as well as the apple/rhubarb combo. We usually combined strawberries and rhubarb in pie, but apple certainly would do. Her site certainly is interesting, although it reminded me I still haven’t wrapped my mind around such things as centigrade and measuring in ounces!

    Liked by 1 person

  36. These sound British. Grandma Leora cooked plain food, but here’s a couple of her recipes from the 1920s that she probably made during both wars: https://joynealkidney.com/2022/09/21/tomato-recipes-from-the-1920s/

    Liked by 1 person

  37. I stll make piccalilli from a similar recipe…cheese onion and potato pie turned up frequently when I was a child and I remember mother’s mother recounting how she caught the butcher putting his thumb on the scales when weighing her meat ration.

    Liked by 2 people

  38. love the list of recipes. my dad used to make ‘hamburger soup’ from that era. I think it was just boiled hamburger meat in hot water, with salt and pepper.

    Liked by 2 people

  39. Dear GP
    we all like apple rhubarb crumble 🙂 🙂
    The other recipes … well, debatable but fortunately we aren’t in war times.
    Keep happy and healthy
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  40. christinenovalarue

    💙💙

    Liked by 1 person

  41. I’m feeling the coffee cartoon this morning. Sunday Night Football dragged on and on.

    The Cheese, Potato & Onion Pie looks like a giant pirogi, and we love pirogis. I also love Bread and Butter pickles. Lots of these would work today. Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

  42. These recipes remind me of some food my grandmothers used to prepare. The potato salad with Dutch sauce was made frequently. My favorite old fashioned dessert is the apple-rhubarb crumble aka apple-rhubarb betty.

    Liked by 2 people

  43. Great post and walk down the good old days at the dinner table with family. 🙂

    Like

  44. Monica Ganz, A Spark of Inspiration

    Reminds me of my childhood. We always ate at home. Now with inflation, we are going back to the old days of good home cooked meals. Also, with Fall coming the biscuit recipes and stew sound good.

    Liked by 3 people

  45. They did eat well and were one of the most healthy recent generations. Even when butter wasn’t rationed, it proved to be fine to eat!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.