As We Move Forward…

Courtesy of: “Voice of the Angels”

As we venture back to the past, Smitty’s letters, the Farewell Salutes, occasionally a homeland episode and military humor will be published each week.   My bibliography has grown to 6 pages long; my library has grown considerably since I first chronicled the war., you can see them at Library YTD.

I will be re-blogging  some of my own posts from the Archives – updated since they were first published.

This entire site is dedicated to my father, Everett A. Smith, aka “Smitty”, who served in the Headquarters Company/187th Regiment/11th Airborne Division in the Pacific during WWII and the 11th A/B as a whole; therefore it is only right that I do so.

Smitty never said, “I did this” or “I did that,”  it was always – “The 11th did IT!”

Smitty or Pops

As a member of the 11th Airborne Association myself, I am privy to their newsletter, “The Voice of the Angels,” edited by Joann Doshier, and I will be using quotes and stories from that publication.  Mr. Matt Underwood, past editor and the officers of the Association have been of great assistance to me and I thank them very much for their help.

This website is ever changing and being updated, because further knowledge is always being learned.  Smitty told me and many others, “I try to learn something every day.  When I stop, Please, close the lid.”  I have never forgotten that motto to live by and I sincerely hope you all do the same.

Major General Joseph May Swing, Cmdr. of the 11th Airborne Div.

Please, DO continue to share what stories you know and/or a link to data you’ve uncovered and put them in the comments.  I am afraid no emails will be opened.  If you are not a blogger, you can Follow by clicking the Follow button in the top right-hand corner of each post.

I thank you all for your contributions in the past and hope you will continue to do so.  If you are new to this site – WELCOME!!  We have a wonderful group of people participating here – join them.  Reminder  – help show your support of our veterans .

Please remember that these countries, in the following posts, were in a horrendous war and NOTHING written or quoted here is with the intent to disparage any people or nations.  And, I have tried to limit the amount of gory details without shading the facts.  I hope I succeed.

Click on images to enlarge.

#############################################################################

Military Humor – 

Some definitions you may want to keep in mind:

ARMY – a body of men assembled to rectify the mistakes of the diplomats

DRAFT BOARD – the world’s largest travel agency

MILITARY EXPERT – one who tells you what will happen next week – and then explains why it didn’t

NEW GUINEA SALUTE – waving the hand over the mess kit to ward off the flies

PACIFIST – a person who fights with everybody BUT the enemy

WAR – a time that starts off paying old scores and ends up by paying new debts

#############################################################################

Farewell Salutes – 

William Anders – brn: Hong Kong; US Air Force, fighter pilot, MGeneral, Naval Academy Class of ’55 / NASA Astronaut

Bill Cameron (100) – Vancouver, CA; RC Navy, WWII, ETO, HMCS Kitchener

Gary E. Dunbar – IA & CA; US Navy, Vietnam, gunner’s mate, USS Piedmont, Midway & Enterprise /  Nuclear weapons inspector, Chief Petty Officer (Ret.)

William Russell Enoch – Sunderland, ENG; Royal Air Force / actor

Robert E. Feron – Hempstead, NY; US Army, WWII, Co C/78th Regiment // USMC, Korea, Sgt., USS Midway & Antietam

George Herbert – Fall River, MA; US Navy, WWII, PTO, gunner’s mate 1st Class, USS Oklahoma, KIA (Pearl Harbor, HI)

Gerald Francis Long – MN; US Army, Vietnam

Robert “Al” Persichetti (102) – Rochester, NY; US Navy, WWII, PTO, radioman, USS Eldorado

Robert Ryan Jr. – Coronado, CA; US Navy, Vietnam, A-7 Corsair pilot, USS Constellation & Enterprise, US Naval Academy Class of ’67 / USS Midway Museum volunteer

Robert T. Williams – Skaneateles, NY; US Navy, WWII, USS Midway

#############################################################################

##############################################################################

About GP

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GP is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on June 10, 2024, in ABOUT, Introduction, SMITTY, Uncategorized, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 123 Comments.

  1. Well i am going to save it on my doc file. Your blog post beautifully honors the legacy and sacrifices of the 11th Airborne Division and your father, Legend Smitty. It’s a valuable treasure of history and personal stories that keep the memory of WWII veterans alive for future generations. Thank you for your dedication to preserving these important pieces of our past.

    Here’s to learning something new every day and sharing these invaluable lessons with others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much. I hope we’ll share more history together as we move forward.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have recently completed my Master’s degree in Archaeology and am currently pursuing a PhD. My academic interests extend beyond archaeology, including Defence & Strategic Studies, particularly in warfare history. It is a privilege to have come across your blog, where I have had the opportunity to gain insights into subjects that are both rare and highly valuable. check grammar

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Smitty’s modesty is something this generation should emulate. We are so consumed with ourselves and our success (or perceived success). That leaves little room for empathy or self-sacrifice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So happy you are planning to continue moving forward with your dad’s story. I’m sure you have discovered many new things to add but his stories are too good to read just once. I try my best to learn something new each day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You dad had the right attitude and right work ethic. I’m glad you’re going to dip into your archives. This post was a great beginning. Thank you, GP.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Smitty gave you great advice there, I also try to learn something new every day, trouble I find is, that it pushes things out the other end! I too update and republish older posts, as there is so much to learn about the greatest generation and their memories. These stories need retelling time and again so we don’t ever forget.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m pleased that you’re going to dip back into your archives. I came somewhat late to your blog, so there’s a lot let to enjoy — not to mention a lot left to learn. Even repeating the same facts or stories isn’t bad. Back in the day of the one room school, the younger kids hearing the older ones recite their lessons, time after time, meant that by the time the young ones were ready for the recitation bench, they’d learned a good bit by osmosis. Just hanging around your site has been educating me: some by reading, some by research, and some by osmosis!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. GP, I didn’t realize that Smitty was your father. Thank you to him for serving. Thank you for keeping his brave memory alive.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Thanks for sharing these an amazing soldiers. Your father was this soldier and my DAD was Signal Corps.WW11. Anita

    Like

  9. GP, I have known you for quite some time now. I deeply respect your love and dedication to your dad, your dad’s regiment, and your country, while at the time telling objectively stories about the enemy. That was and is very rare. Although I got acquainted with the history of the Pacific war through your blog, I am looking foward to reading the updated details. Thank you for keeping you work going, GP!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Peter. I know I don’t comment as often as I should, but I hope you know how much I like your site, Arrow Lake and your family research!!

      Like

  10. These posts have been great and are always worth sharing as many of these stories need to be told.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I think your father was a remarkable person. This was so good to read. The definitions were really funny.🌺😂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Here’s to another loop around the WWII time machine! I lived through the entire cycle, though I wasn’t very old in 1939. I recall my mother telling me there was a war. I decided to ask her every day if it were over. I remembered and asked the next day, but her response was not favorable, so I decided not to ask ever again.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m glad you’ll be sharing from posts from the archives, GP. I’m sure I missed a lot of them, especially the earlier ones. Smitty’s stories are worth telling, as are yours. They’re eye opening and inspiring. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. i love that closing quote by Reagan… such a wonderful site, I’ve always loved perusing it…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Always look forward to your post GP

    Liked by 1 person

  16. GP, it is a marvel and a pleasure beyond reckoning to read Smitty’s letters once again. He was an inestimably smart, observant young man. He provided my first introduction to your blog, and it is a delight to encounter him again, across the many decades Through an almost impossibly difficult time for him, he never lost that verve he had, and I’m delighted to meet him again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much, Brad. Due to the Great Depression, my Dad never went past the 8th grade, but he was the smartest man I ever met!

      Like

  17. I am always honored to read about your dad! And I appreciate him! His service, his wisdom, his humility, his kindness, ETC! 🙂
    (((HUGS))) ❤️❤️❤️
    PS…thank you for sharing those definitions…humor and wisdom rolled into each one! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  18. GP, you have a remarkable father. I had goosebumps when I read this: “Smitty never said, “I did this” or “I did that,”  it was always – “The 11th did IT!” Your library is fabulous – I know that you chose every book with care.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. A terrific intro to your blog, GP. I hope anyone who is new will feel free to interact and comment. This is a very safe and friendly place you have here. Also, the coffee is not so bad either.

    Liked by 2 people

  20. So pleased to meet your father, Everett A. Smith, aka “Smitty” 🙂 I assume that the photo is also of him.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I’ve learned so much from your posts, Pete, and I look forward to learning more as time goes by.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I thank your dad for his work, a great American! I have followed you for a long time because I love the history lessons. 🙏🏻🇺🇸

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Your posts are always informative, often entertaining and humorous too. You have never shied away from the horrors of war, and proved to the reader that gory detail is not necessary to explain those. Keep on doing what you do, GP, it is very good.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Without doubt the military definitions are stand outs, GP. The ‘bucket of bolts’ meme must have bee inspired by jumping a C19. We loved it when we jumped out, the ride was too much to take.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Great definitions. They start my day right. I’m glad to learn background on your informative site. My dad went into the Army Air Force at 19, trained as a bombardier. Best regards.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those definitions sure have been a hit – I think it’s because they’re true!!
      Is your Dad still with us?

      Liked by 1 person

      • The truth has staying power, doesn’t it? The defs are both pithy and entertaining. My dad died in 2013 aged 88. A crash of his plane in a training flight in New Mexico grounded him near the end of the war and he didn’t see combat service. He achieved distinction as a cadet. I have a bundle of letters he wrote home during training which his mother saved. I typed them into my Macbook several years ago, a project of many hours. Thankfully, he had a fluent style and legible handwriting. They held a trove of experiences and detail that I never heard him relate. Thank you for inquiring about him. Best regards.

        Liked by 1 person

  26. Learning something every day isn’t as easy as it sounds. Since being told that about 40 years ago I have tried, but all I know now is that I have a lot more to learn. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  27. I think that’s a major thing – “The 11th did it” today it’s all me!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Helen Devries

    I learn so much from your posts….you’re keeping the lid open for me! Hooted at the military definitions!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. In the Farewell Salutes section, Hempstead, NY, jumped out at me because I grew up two towns west of there. As a teenager I often rode my bike the three miles to the Salvation Army store in Hempstead, where I bought lots of used books at low prices.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. My brother had a friend named Everett Smith, coincidentally, though it is unlikely they were of the same generation, let alone be the same man because his friend graduated high school in 1959!

    Regardless, GP, your posts are a breath of fresh air for those of us who honor those warriors who maglde our life free and those who took up the torch to keep that freedom there for the future! Thank you for your commendable efforts, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. I have seen many changes in this site, GP, as you have covered a wide variety of subjects far better than the history teachers I had in school, or the directors and producers in Hollywood. I look forward to everything that follows. I hope you have a wonderful week, and that we both keep learning new things,

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Here’s to not closing the lid just yet!

    Liked by 2 people

  33. Nice retro, GP. My father always identified the New Guinea salute as the Aussie salute for the same reason. Loved ‘the toons. Thanks for adding all of that info to Final Salutes. May I ‘borrow’ your military definitions?

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Thanks for updating memories and historic moments of your father

    I like reading you blogpost. Always very interesting

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Your posts have been great, GP, education for me. I’m SO glad I have been able to follow them and learn so much.

    Liked by 2 people

  36. This is a wonderful article. I loved reading it, and hope that you will post more of them. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  37. I like the quote “The 11th did it”!

    Liked by 2 people

  38. You’ve archived a valuable collection of history and memories, humor and information. Well done, GP. I look forward to more!

    Liked by 3 people

  39. Congratulations! I’ve enjoyed your posts and look forward to more updates. Yes, the Second World War was a momentous, epic, historical event. The Pacific Theater is especially deserving of more understanding because of its more nuanced background.

    Liked by 3 people

  40. Are you having a reboot GP?
    Love the definitions, made me laugh.

    Liked by 3 people

  41. Thank you, Ned!

    Like

  1. Pingback: As We Move Forward… | Ned Hamson's Second Line View of the News

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.