Everett Smith’s scrapbook

  Everett A. Smith at Camp MacKall, NC

During my project of  transposing my father’s scrapbook into my computer to preserve it, my research into the 11th Airborne, the Pacific War and the state of the world during that era grabbed my interest.  I amassed a nice size manuscript with bibliography.  And I do not appear to be alone in this interest.

I discovered a multitude of forums and websites dedicated to that era and people searching frantically for any information on their relatives.

In the posts to follow I will include not just the photographs, information and portions of letters (if not all) from the scrapbook, but the political aspects of the past that brought the world to such an explosive state.  I will make every attempt to only post the facts.  Should I find that I wish to make my own opinions on a matter, I will state it as so.

I sincerely hope you not only enjoy this site, but also locate information that is helpful.

About gpcox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Introduction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 157 Comments.

  1. Thanks you for the likes I appreciate. You taking time to follow my blog. :)

    Like

  2. I love your blog and the fact you dedicated it to your dad-that is very cool. Your articles and photos are great! I am an army brat myself (although a dedicated hippie!) My brother and Dad were both in the S.A.S. and I heard a lot of campaign talk over the dinner table while growing up in England -best ana

    Like

    • I just came back – what a wonderful thing for you to do to remind people that this site is dedicated to my father, Smitty, and the 11th A/B. You have been my friend and teacher since the very beginning – Thank You!

      Like

      • Pierre Lagacé

        Even if I am a retired teacher, I still have it in my blog. A good teacher is the one who piques his students’ curiosity.

        Like

        • Very true. I had a few of those in my time in school, one reason for my education in science.

          Like

          • Pierre Lagacé

            I don’t recall one teacher having done that, but this could be one of those dreaded senior moments…

            Like

            • It’s funny how memories like that are hidden and then pop up out of the blue.

              Like

              • Pierre Lagacé

                This is why Notes’ post about Recollections led me to this new series of posts about the Teacher’s Pet Awards.

                Rosh had nominated me for the Liebster Awards…

                It piqued my curiosity just like my wife’s uncle did in July 2009 when he let the word Athabaskan slipped out of his memory…

                Like

  3. Hey wanted you to see this link, think it might be something you would like to participate in, they only need two more entries however so it might be to late. Thought I would let you know anyways, considering you more than anyone have educated me. :)

    http://farmerfarthing.com/2014/05/02/i-have-a-favour-to-ask-of-you-my-friends/

    Like

    • I read your link and commented on it. A very worthy effort, I will try to get something prepared before the deadline. I hope my influence on you has been a positive one.

      Like

  1. Pingback: 2nd Teacher’s Pet Awards – Pacific Paratrooper | Our Ancestors

  2. Pingback: Adoption papers | Our Ancestors

  3. Pingback: Who Remembers? | Lest We Forget

  4. Pingback: Souvenirs de guerre | Souvenirs de guerre

  5. Pingback: Why Veterans Seldom Talk About the War? | Lest We Forget

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,494 other followers

