World War II from #AtoZChallenge – W is for Women in the Armed Services

LET’S GIVE THE WOMEN THE CREDIT THEY DESERVE!!

IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE

WORLD WAR II FROM A TO Z

W

Women all over the world contributed to their country’s effort in the Second World War.  Many of these women served in the armed services. To write about them all or even just those for the Allied Powers would be a very large under taking. Today I write about American women in the armed services but rest assured, the Americans were just one part.

During World War II, approximately 400,000 U.S. women served with the armed forces and more than 460 — some sources say the figure is closer to 543 — lost their lives as a result of the war, including 16 from enemy fire. However, the U.S. decided not to use women in combat because public opinion would not tolerate it. Women became officially recognized as a permanent part of the U.S. armed forces after the war, with the passing of the…

View original post 1,381 more words

Posted on September 9, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Thank you for writing about women in WWII, My Cousin, whom we called Aunt because she was my mother’s age, would have loved this. She is now in her 90’s and doesn’t remember a lot. But when we were younger, she used to tell us tales about her service. She was in the Navy, In Wash, DC. and was the private secretary of the Officer in charge of secret codes and decoding. it sounded like a lot of hard, very important work, and she loved it. She was quite old, maybe in her 80’s when they dedicated the monument in Wash DC to the Women that Served. She had stayed in touch with other women that served and they all went down to DC from Boston for the celebration. Thank you again for the article. I may try to copy it and send it to her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for sharing your cousin’s story. You can be certain back then, decoding was hard and tedious work and we owe that department a lot for saving many of our troops’ lives. It would be wonderful if we could hear how she liked this article and if she wanted to add anything herself. I appreciate your time to bring us this and sent along my gratitude to the WAVE!!!

      Like

  2. A great tribute to the ladies in uniform, GP.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great read – very interesting. Thank you.

    Like

  4. I’m a sucker for a girl in uniform.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post on Women in the Armed Forces. The video clip was fascinating too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Excellent reading of the contribution the Woman of the services gave during the War.
    Segregation obviously played a part in the formation of the units, back then, believe there was also an African/American male Battalion also around that time, then again I may be thinking of Korea.
    Couldn’t leave a comment on your friends site.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Interesting details on Captain Vivian Bullwinkel, Sole Survivor: the Banka Island Massacre.
    http://blog.findmypast.co.uk/2015/sole-survivor-vivian-bullwinkle-and-the-banka-island-massacre/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My mom worked at Fort Bragg repairing guns. Until now, I have never wondered why she didn’t join the military.

    Liked by 1 person

    • But she did her part in the war effort and you must be proud of that. You’ve heard me say time and again that there are many links in the chain for the combat troops to be successful – no part is too small – and that includes civilian support.

      Like

  9. Wonderful read. As the mother of a Navy girl, I enjoyed the post.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I was a WAC in the Army during the Vietnam war.
    Because I like to sing, I was chosen to be the cadence caller as my platoon marched from point A to point B. The one that I still remember is:
    “Prettiest WAC I’ve ever seen
    had hairy legs and knobby knees
    Sound off… 1,2…(etc).
    I guess I remember that one because I didn’t really like the words, for obvious reasons. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Thanks so much for the reblog. I enjoyed revisiting that one.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. My Make Love, Not War post was a timely overlap with this.

    Like

  13. Fine tribute and then too women in war production work at home. My mother got $5 a week as a clerk in the Brooklyn Navy Yard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

