Canada Day

Have a Great Canada Day Neighbors !!!
// //

On July 1, 1867, Canada became a self-governing dominion of Great Britain and a federation of four provinces: Nova Scotia; New Brunswick; Ontario; and Quebec. The anniversary of this date was called Dominion Day until 1982. Since 1983, July 1 has been officially known as Canada Day.

 

 

################################################################################

Military Humor – Canadian Style –Β 

FunnyPart-com-canada_s_navy

canada9

 

################################################################################

1funny36

++++++++++++

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on July 1, 2015, in Current News, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 53 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    My apologies to my Canadian followers and a belated Happy Canada Day. I thought I reblogged this, but just learned I hadn’t. Loved the symphony.

    Like

  2. My wife has fond memory’s of living in Canada, especially a place called Whitehorse, must admit I haven’t checked out where it is.
    Enjoyed the sense of humor in that second cartoon.
    Cheers.

    Like

  3. I am amazed that I cannot recall having heard that stirring music before. A wonderful recording. But then, my only Canadian connection has been a French Canadian uncle.

    Like

    • I went through a bunch of videos before deciding on that rendition of O Canada and it turns out to be from fellow blogger, Pickled Wings’ hometown!! What are the odds, eh? This world gets smaller every day!! Glad you liked it.

      Like

  4. My family actually emigrated from Canada to the U.S in the 1800s.

    Thanks!

    Marcey

    Like

  5. Best wishes to our Canadian friends on their Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the symphony orchestras music O’Canada.
    A vast and wonderful country, peaceful and safe country.
    I like Canada’s gun laws as apposed to U.S.A.’s.
    I do not think sorry written on a bullet is funny.
    Bullets may silence people but create wounds that never heal.
    Thank you for liking my posts.
    Kind regards jack.

    Like

    • I thought the rendition of O Canada was classic myself. The bullet with ‘Sorry’ on it is merely a ribbing about Canadians apologizing – hope you weren’t offended. Military humor is used by the troops to relieve stress and I use it to break up the seriousness of this blog’s topic – nothing more is intended.

      Like

  7. Beautiful rendition.

    Like

  8. I love that Fleet Air Arm shot … ours is similar but involves a box kite (they’re working on the high altitude variant with a much longer string) …

    Like

  9. Congratulations and Happy Canada Day!πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

    Like

  10. Happy Canada Day to all the Canadians out there. I too enjoy the Military Humor!

    Like

  11. Thank you very much – from a Canadian.
    Leslie

    Like

  12. I second those Best Wishes Canada.

    Like

  13. When I first read this, I though you said it was “domination” day and I thought “that doesn’t sound very Canadian. I’m guessing England isn’t found of the first week in July.

    Like

  14. From an expat Canadian, thanks for this post!

    You even got my hometown’s orchestra playing the anthem too! πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Nice to see a bit of North American rivalry creeping in. If Canadians are mistaken for Americans when they visit the UK, they are never very happy about it. Many wear maple leaf flags or badges to avoid confusion.
    I liked the ‘military humour’!
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can see how there would be confusion sometimes. Since everyone seems to hate us, I suppose I might wear the leaf too, if I was Canadian.

      Like

      • I don’t think Americans are hated in the UK GP, but wearing the leaf might be an option in the Middle East!
        We recently had visits from veteran air force personnel, and the US ambassador, who came to this region to look at WW2 airfields, and in the case of the ambassador, to also look at the village of his ancestors. They all received a warm welcome, and were featured on the TV news, as well as being given a reception by the local community.

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Canada does have a very interesting history as well. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

