Fear not dear mother – Blue Maiden

Eric brought us these stories overyears ago, butnever forgot them. While the events of the Pacific transpired, other parts of the world suffered…….

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on June 17, 2015, in First-hand Accounts, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. This struck home as I have spend parts of the last few years reading about similar tragedies.

    Like

  2. Hi, I wanted to let you know that I nominated your for a Reader’s Challenge. Here is the link:
    https://charlesfrenchonwordsreadingandwriting.wordpress.com/2015/06/17/reading-habits/

    Like

  3. Thanks for keeping this sad story alive.

    Like

  4. Unbelievable, horrific, Humanity at its worse
    Is the name of the book, Fear not Dear Mother-Blue Maiden, by Eric Alagen, gp.
    Not sure if I read correctly.
    Great factual post mate.

    Like

  5. I commented over there. This is so very sad.

    Like

  6. I’m afraid to read the rest. I so hope there’s a happy ending.

    Like

  7. Dear GP Cox,
    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://michelinewalker.com/?p=51422&preview=true&preview_id=51422. If you do not have the time to follow the rules, please accept your nomination as a sign of appreciation. Displaying your nomination is all you need to do.
    Congratulations,
    Micheline 🙂

    Like

  8. ThanksGP. I have had a quick look at Eric’s blog and will get back to it soon. I wonder if in years to come the difference between the Japanese soldiers of 1942/5 and now will be reflected by a similar difference between ISIS now and sometime in the future. I’m not too hopeful.

    Like

    • You have a similar situation with ISIS, IMO. A handful of glib power-hungry thugs talk people with low self-esteem into following them. Hitler and Tojo – alike, don’t you think? Pretty much the same set up if you ask me.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. There are no words for this cruelty.

    Like

  10. Reading the comments elsewhere, I feel I may be an old dinosaur to point out that toi me there is a profound difference between war and a war crime. The Battle of Britain was war, but shooting prisoners in the Battle of the Bulge was a war crime. Not enough Japanese were brought to book in 1945 for this kind of savagery. I’m glad you gave me the chance to read the story though, many thanks for that.

    Like

    • I’m certain many of the Allies got away with murder themselves, but as I told Pete, I don’t think we’ll ever know the extent of the horrifics. The major players in the Pacific were brought to trial, but as you go down the chain of command, you run into another fine line of ordering men to kill and torture verses taking orders. I would venture to say, it was a matter of judgement – at the time. [back then, being politically correct and following civil rights was not as imperative as it is now]. I thank you for sharing your view on this story, John.

      Like

  11. A sad tale of Japanese cruelty in occupied countries. So many things like this happened, it is hard to contemplate the level of atrocities.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

    • I don’t suppose we will ever know the extent of what really happened. I’ve heard similar stories about our “Allies” the Soviets on the Eastern front too. Have a good one, GP Cox

      Like

  12. Thank you for the reblog. Much appreciate this. Many similar tales abound – not all recorded, I reckon.
    Peace,
    Eric

    Like

Leave a Reply

