Paul Allen says he’s found long-lost World War II Japanese battleship sunk in 1944 (PHOTOS)

CLICK ON TO READ MORE AND SEE THE VIDEO!!

Q13 FOX News

(CNN) — Microsoft co-founder Paul Allen says he has found the wreck of a long-lost World War II  Japanese battleship near the Philippines.

The philanthropist posted images on Twitter that appeared to show the Musashi, once one of the two largest warships in the world. The discovery was made aboard his superyacht, the MY Octopus, as part of an expedition launched by Allen.

The search has taken Allen and his team of researchers more than eight years.

The images, along with video that will later be released, were taken by an unmanned submersible deployed from the vessel.

“Since my youth, I have been fascinated with World War II history, inspired by my father’s service in the U.S. Army,” said Allen in a statement.

“The Musashi is truly an engineering marvel and, as an engineer at heart, I have a deep appreciation for the technology and effort that went into its…

View original post 594 more words

Posted on March 4, 2015, in Uncategorized, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I have been following this discovery in our news feeds here, it is a momentous discovery, and puts another piece of the jigsaw in place.
    Notice one of your readers refers to Ping backs, now that I have sorted out Tags I will have to find out what Ping Backs do.
    Cheers.

    Like

    • It’s like a link back to the other site. If you have any major questions, go to the bottom of your Dashboard and click on Support, type in Pingbacks [or whatever] and that will bring you to the instruction page. I keep forgetting how to insert a video into my post – I’m always messing that up!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a hell of a find he made!

    Like

  3. Fascinating! I appreciate that he wishes to respect that it is also a cemetery.
    I love that he would use his time and money to aid in the recovery of such an item. This will bring closure to many and allow the world to witness the technological feats of the time.
    Kudos! Another great post.

    Like

  4. Every such find is a real treasure and must be treated with respect. Such good news, gp

    Like

    • Thank you, Ina. I’m always glad when they locate one of the vessels, but then I worry about what will happen next – scavengers, souvenir hunters, etc.

      Like

  5. Anxious to hear what they decide to do with the ship. Money talks!

    Like

  6. #AWEsome article, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. The wreck of US submarine The Wahoo was discovered several years ago off the coast of Japan. My uncle was on it, a mere boy. I know there was a ceremony but I don’t know what happened to the sub remains.

    Like

    • I am very sorry for the loss of your uncle. The Wahoo was discovered with the assistance of the Russian ‘Iskra’ team laying in 213′ of water in the Soya (La Perouse) Strait between Hokkaido, Japan and Sakhalin, Russia. She received a direct aerial bomb hit to the middle of her conning tower. The US & Russian navies held the traditional wreath-laying ceremony. Perhaps this link will help keep you informed about further updates, pictures, etc. (if you so wish).
      http://www.usswahoo.org/

      Like

  8. What a story. Hadn’t heard anything about this.

    Like

    • I found it bright and early, a little story on the sidelines of the internet and it took forever to find one I could reblog – now it’s everywhere!! Thanks for reading, Jacqui.

      Like

  9. My Hiroshima cousin took me to the Yamato museum a little over a year ago in Kure. Its size was tremendous but to see artifacts that were brought up from the wreck was humbling. May everyone who perished in the battle be at peace, both Allied and Japanese.

    Like

  10. Co-founder of Microsoft. Is that rich enough to refloat it?

    Like

    • He is a billionaire, so I suppose so. The thing is, often the ship is left as the men’s tomb and monument in honor of their sacrifice. We’ll have to see what is decided.

      Like

  11. Pierre Lagacé

    Great link!

    Like

  12. I appreciate the ping-back for your article.

    Like

  1. Pingback: RESPECT FOR DEAD HEROES | FORESTALL

Leave a Reply

