Honoring those that serve us

"1. Theme float, sound car and pace car

Tournament of Roses 2015

Alhambra, California honored the Japanese-Americans in WWII with their “Go For Broke” display:

Go For Broke!

Go For Broke!

10857080_10152910698717488_381013185268763231_o (800x450)

457776_630x354

Please click on photos to enlarge!

Honoring Louis Zamperini

Mr. Zamperini was made Grand Marshall

Mr. Zamperini was made Grand Marshall

Rose Parade-7 (800x616)

 

 

 

 

For those who care!

Pasadena-Police-and-Fire-Dept-Rose-Parade-Safety-Tips

Parade Watch Logo 2015 4 web

 

 

 

 

 

U.S. Marine Mounted Honor Guard

U.S. Marine Mounted Honor Guard

Helsingor Pigegarde Elsinore Girls Marching Band from Denmark playing "Anchors Away" while marching in an anchor formation.

Helsingor Pigegarde Elsinore Girls Marching Band from Denmark playing “Anchors Away” while marching in an anchor formation

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank You !

Stealth B-2 Flyover

##################################################################################

Military Humor – cut-backs are international!

defence_cuts_navy

 

 

defence_cuts_boat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#################################################################################

Farewell Salutes – borderKenneth Bridgham – Rutledge, TN; US Army, Korea & Vietnam, Bronze Star, Purple Heart

Brian Carrothers – Vancouver, CAN; Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary’s), WWII, D-Day

Cecil Corts – Leslie, MI; US Navy, WWII20140525_104827-10 (600x800)

Gordon Douglas – Veedersburg, IN; US Army, WWII, ETO, Bronze Star, Purple Heart

Terry Lewis – Little Rock, AR; US Navy (Ret. 25 years), Vietnam

John Mcrath – Canton, GA; US Navy, WWII

Robert Thomas, Melbourne, FL; US Army Air Corps, WWII, CBI/US Air Force, Korea

Hugh Young – Vienna, VA; US Army, Korea, CIA

border

 

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on January 3, 2015, in Current News, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 53 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the Like on my post. My great-uncle landed on Normandy beach on 6-6-1944. He never could speak of the carnage. I’m glad you are blogging about what happened.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I take it from your wording that your great-uncle is no longer with us. If you care to have his name in the Farewell Salutes, I would be more than happy to include him. We want no one forgotten!! Welcome to Pacific Paratrooper and I hope we’ll be seeing more of you.

      Like

  2. So glad to find so many ppl who appreciate as I do our nation’s oldest vets. I’ve interviewed 60+ and they are all precious. We need to get their stories recorded for future generations!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Kay for that remark, because that is exactly why we’re here. I have a wonderful group of people that stop by and read the data, comment and share their relatives’ stories with the rest of us. Even the Farewell Salutes have many of those very people mentioned. I hope you will continue to join in from now on!

      Like

  3. No amount of words could explain the emotions, vibrating from that second picture.
    The whole picture sums up the esteem, that those American Japanese held for America.
    Ian

    Like

  4. Ha! Ha! That about sums up our Navy! 🙂

    Like

  5. AZVHV.wordpress.com

    Reblogged this on AZVHV and commented:
    Originally posted by GPCox on PACIFICPARATROOPER, this is a pictorial of a Tournament of Roses recognition of Japanese Americans in WW11.

    Like

  6. A wonderful tribute, gp!

    Like

  7. Happy 2015! Thank you for being you, and for your inspiring posts and great work on behalf of our heroes!
    Best wishes
    Inese

    Like

  8. fabulous post!

    Like

  9. Thank you to those! The B2 flying over is awesome. It seems to be quiet too.

    Like

  10. I was wondering whether you had read George MacDonald Fraser’s novel, ‘Quartered Safe Out Here: A Harrowing Tale of World War II’. It’s the author’s personal memoir of his time in the British army fighting in Burma. It’s a great read or listen, if you can understand all the different British dialects. Fraser defends the use of nuclear weapons against the Japanese and provides a ‘from the trenches’ view of how the Japanese were seen. I think you would enjoy it, I certainly did.

    Like

    • Thank you for thinking of me, but yes, I do have the book and I have read it. Santa was kind enough to pick up a copy of “With the Old Breed” by EB Sledge, which I just finished. I had his story in the History Channel’s “Pacific”, but the story is scattered throughout the book. His own memoir puts it all intact. I would recommend this book to you.

      Like

  11. What a great idea for a float. Glad you captured the moment on your blog.

    Like

    • I was thrilled when I heard about it and made a point to get the photos. The young girls from Denmark impressed me – playing one of our themes and marching in formation!

      Like

  12. Walter Boomsma

    Just wanted to say “Thanks” for a great site… My Dad served in the Navy and was stationed at NAS Palmyra Island in the Pacific during WWII… I am always looking for additional information and have great admiration for those who serve so I also appreciate those who maintain sites like this to keep the memory and honor alive!

    Like

    • It is a great pleasure to meet you, Walter. Please note that any information or stories you have from your father are more than welcome here in the comments. The readers here join in all the time – they know I want them to feel this site is a join effort to keep the era in our minds and hearts as we go about our daily lives in freedom. While we’re at it, I hope I eventually supply you with some tid-bit of knowledge you hadn’t heard before [archives of WWII are still being de-classified].

      Like

  13. I know Alhambra well. They’re just the city for such a great outreach.

    Like

    • I had heard about the float while it was being planned, so I kept my eye out for it. I was thrilled the vets were able to ride along and show how that generation has stamina! Thanks for looking in today, Jacqui.

      Like

  14. Also good to honor those who’ve served.

    and I love the humor photos you get. Those are great!
    But didn’t anyone tell Canada that Afghanistan is a landlocked mostly desert country. Maybe they need wheels on that boat…

    Like

  15. I also enjoyed the post, Everett. The military humor made me smile too 🙂

    Like

  16. Wonderful floats…and I am so happy to see some of the soldiers are still alive and kicking! 😀

    Like

  17. What a fine post, gpcox. Only you would catch this float on parade! It was freezing here in SoCal New Year’s morn and some were concerned for the well-being of these aged vets. The B-2 flyover was cool… Yet a sign of our shrinking military might. ONE B-2? 😬

    Like

    • I don’t know if budget cuts was the reason for the solo flyover, but it sure impressed me! I saw that aircraft approach the stadium and I couldn’t believe it! I heard it was very cold there during the parade [ here it was 11am and already warming up], but honestly – do you think those veterans thought anything about the temperature? 😉

      Like

  18. Once again, I like the images here. 🙂

    Like

  19. Very impressive flypast!

    Like

    • I waited patiently for the flyover, expecting either the Apache helicopters or a few fighters – the usual. When I saw that little black speck in the sky coming toward the stadium, I said out loud, “No, it can’t be!” – But it was!! Thank you for taking the time to watch it, John.

      Like

  20. Schönes wee-kend wünsche ich Gruß Gislinde

    Like

Leave a Reply

