A rough background …

THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN MY FATHER’S 100TH BIRTHDAY – FOR THOSE OF YOU NEW TO THIS SITE – SMITTY AND HIS 11TH AIRBORNE DIVISION ARE THE REASON THIS WEBSITE EXISTS – PLEASE MEET OR RE-ACQUAINT YOURSELF WITH MY FATHER.

Pacific Paratrooper

Pvt. Everett "Smitty" Smith, Camp MacKall, NC Pvt. Everett “Smitty” Smith, Camp MacKall, NC

RE-POSTED IN HONOR OF SMITTY’S 100TH BIRTHDAY

Everett Smith was born Dec. 12, 1914 and grew up across from the gentle waves of Jamaica Bay on an island one mile long and barely four blocks wide.  This was the tight-knit community of Broad Channel, New York.  He resided with his mother

young Everett and Mother, Anna

Anna on peaceful East 9th Road and spent his days between school, working and helping to care for his grandmother.  Everett’s nickname had always been “Smitty” and so, the name of his fishing station came to be.  In 1939, at 24 years of age, he married a woman named Catherine and she joined the Smith household.

boats on Jamaica Bay from Smitty's Boat Station boats on Jamaica Bay from Smitty’s Boat Station

News of Hitler and his rise to power filtered into the newspapers and radio, but the Smith’s still had the memories of WWI and…

View original post 302 more words

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on December 12, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 42 Comments.

  1. Merry Christmas from Ana at Jubilee Journey & Geophilia Photography. Thank your for your support. Have a wonderful new year.

    Like

  2. Hi, I love the site. I wish we had more of them! I have edited a movie where my dad recorded his recollections of WWII aboard the USS Pennsylvania, BB-38. You can find the link to the video here: http://wp.me/p5hNPK-5N I am also issuing a challenge as part of my weekly Monday Morning Challenge to find, thank and get a story from a WWII vet. It will be published Monday morning. The link for it is here: http://wp.me/p5hNPK-62 Thanks for all the work you put into this! It is appreciated.

    Like

    • I’ve made a note to view your video (probably later today). I greatly appreciate you putting in a link to it – I’m always asking for stories!! Hope your dad is continuing to improve. Thank him for us, for ALL he’s done!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amazing that he was born 100 years ago. My mother became a nurse during WWII and worked in a number of Vet Hospitals. She has told me many stories of the things and horrors she witnessed.

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing this in memory of your Dad gpcox , so good that you are proud of him, as I’m sure he was of you.

    Blessings – Anne.

    Like

  5. Happy Birthday! Thank you for sharing his story with us. I am touched…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What wonderful memories. You’re a good son, GP.

    Like

  7. Thanks for the wonderful repost, GP! Birthday wishes to your Dad! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Cheers G – ❤ and happy b-day Smitty = the one hundredth one is special 🙂

    Like

  9. Happy Birthday to your Dad even though he is not with us. Nice tribute and sure glad you started the blog! Raising my cup of coffee and like that line also 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. gp, Enjoyed this background I never knew on the anniversary of Dad “Smitty’s 100th!!! Interesting reading he was from Jamaica Bay, New York, near my relatives stomping grounds. Also Republican, isolationist family scrapping for a living during the Depression as was my Dad. The 11th Airborne Division, Headquarters Company, 187th regiment!!!!!! My father was a medic in the Army Air Corps & his unit patch that I have right here has a number 20 on it with a different version of gold wings at the bottom with a white star with a red circle in the middle of the star & the wings branching off the star. The “20” was at the top of the patch & the background had a grid that looked like the globe!!!! I was comparing it to your Dad’s patch here on your website. I should research the name of my Dad’s unit….but a good guess the the 29th Airborne Division I would think! Happy 100th! My Dad’s will be 2020! Phil

    Like

    • It will prove interesting to hear what you discover. The 29th was an infantry division and the 20th was artillery [if I’m not mistaken] – you really need to look into this. Glad you liked the post, I thank you for reading and commenting here today, Phil.

      Liked by 2 people

      • gp, Took your advise & found my father’s patch on google for sale as the 20th Army Air Corps. Also, Wikipedia discusses the 20 Air Force commissioned in 1944 deployed to the Pacific Theater WWII including the Mariana Islands which includes Saipan where my father served 14 months in 1944 & 1945. No mention of it being an artillery outfit though it specifically says “strategic bombardment.” –Sounds like artillery to me! Many thanks, gp! Phil

        Like

  11. Happy Birthday to your dad and thank you for his service – he sounds like he was a remarkable man!

    Like

  12. Thanks for re-posting this. Enjoy your best memories of your father today.

    Like

  13. Your dear father and I nearly share a birthday. Very cool~

    Like

  14. We owe so much to your father and to all who served in WWII.

    Like

Leave a Reply

