National Korean War Veterans Armistice Day

A COMMEMORATIVE HOLIDAY OFTEN FORGOTTEN. PLEASE VIEW THIS REVISED ARMISTICE DAY POST OF MINE TO HONOR THE TROOPS.

PLUS – THE OLDEST LIVING FEMALE (108) WW2 VETERAN IS HONORED TODAY!!!  CLICK HERE

Pacific Paratrooper

korean-war-ends-3a217bbf554bf103

“…the wrong war in the wrong place at the wrong time.” _______ General Omar Bradley, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

Armistice signing Armistice signing

No single incident caused the catastrophic events that became WWII and the wars that sprang out of those six years also had their seeds dropped many decades before. Those of you that read my post “Setting the stage for war” at https://pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/setting-the-stage-for-war/ or have read the book, The Imperial Cruise by James Bradley, have an idea of which I speak. I could go back into history as far as Marco Polo, but I’ll spare you my rambling.

koreanwar02

Teddy Roosevelt declared, “Our future history will be more determined by our position on the Pacific facing China than our position on the Atlantic facing Europe.” He was eager to see American strength spread across Asia just as it had gone across the North American continent. He also stated…

View original post 263 more words

Posted on July 27, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great of you to remind us – as always!

    Like

  2. Wow! I actually knew Omar Bradley, and have a signed copy of his book, A Soldier’s Story. I was a young Army lieutenant at Fort Bliss, Texas in 1979. General Bradley was living and working there.

    Even though he was well past retirement age, General Bradley came to work every day. He had a personal staff that included several full bird colonels. It was amazing to be that close to such an historical figure. He ate lunch at the Officers’ Club every day. His staff would lift him from the back seat of his staff car, which if I recall correctly was a black Cadillac with five-star flags on the fenders, and gently put him in his wheel chair. I was only at Fort Bliss (that time) for six months, attending the Officer Basic Course, enroute to the 25th Infantry Division in Hawaii. Several members of my class were trained to be on his funeral detail, as he was expected to pass away on any given day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What an honor and experience it must have been! I am more than jealous. My father spent a lot of time with officers, on up to MacArthur, but my contact is varied. Yours is quite the experience! If you have posts relating to this – please include links here for the readers and myself to view.

      Like

  3. Well done. I have so many thoughts in my head I can get one down. Most alude to what’s going on in modern North Korea.

    Never mind–going back to my writing.

    Like

  4. I saw a photo in our paper today of local veterans commemorating Armistice Day. Unfortunately, I can’t find a link to post for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

