Robert J. Ritchie, the son of a Gold Star Mother

Many of you already know and follow Pierre Lagacé at one or more of his 17 blogs, written in English and/or French. My Canadian friend has been my teacher, editor and supporter. His historical research is amazing. Check out this post and his Gravatar profile – you’ll be amazed too!

Our Ancestors

Sometimes when you look for relatives while doing your family tree, you come across obituaries…

Like the one I posted yesterday on this blog.

Sometimes an obituary has to get to the point.

The obituary quickly mentions that Edna or Odna lost two boys in WWII, William and Robert.

Both were my 2nd cousins.

William Ritchie (1921 – 1944) and Robert J Ritchie (1925 – 1945) who were

the sons of Edna Lagasse (1893 – 1983) who was

the daughter of Dennis Lagasse III (1864 – 1922) who was

the son of Dennis Lagasse II (1842 – 1927) who was

the father of Léo Lagacé Senior (1888 – 1964) who was

the father of Léo Lagacé Junior (1927 – 1995) who was my father…

Edna Lagasse was a Gold Star mother twice.

Just in case you would like to know more about Robert J. Ritchie who gave his life for his country and did…

View original post 1,293 more words

Posted on May 10, 2014, in Korean War, Letters home, Uncategorized, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Thanks for a very interesting reading, looking at the pics it really does bring the war closer to home, when you see the youthfullness of those involved.
    I had never heard of a Gold Star mother.
    Ian

    Like

    • Pierre does amazing work on his sites and for the families he researches. He has been a tutor (sometimes basically taking my hand and walking me thru instructions), a role model and inspiration, not just to me. A friend who who is always there to help; I guess you’d call him Mate.

      Like

  2. I remember this post well. As others have said, we all have missing relatives and it is great that people like Pierre go to such trouble to regenerate our memories of them.

    Like

  3. My neighbor years ago was a Navy veterans of World War II in submarines. He told me one day that few people realize how many fine young men were lost on submarines; he told me that he always considered that he was protected by a guardian angel that he made it through the war at all. The things Mr. Wilson shared with me were sobering realizations about things I never before gave much thought to. I really admired him; and I never met a man who was so skilled in so many areas.

    I believe that today, Mr. Wilson is someone else’s guardian angel.

    Like

  4. On a slightly different note:

    Just the other day, Canada held a national memorial for all 158 Canadian soldiers who died in Afghanistan. Two of them were from my town, Hamilton.

    For me, it’s always a matter of recalling how we got to this point in the first place.

    Never forget.

    Like

    • I understand what you’re saying, Allan. I am very sorry for the loss of your friends and I wish I knew the words that would make it all easier. (I had not mentioned this new Canadian memorial day being as I discovered so much controversy over it.)

      Like

  5. My heart breaks at the thought of a mother losing so much.

    Like

  6. No doubt in my mind, there should be a public holiday for Gold Star Mothers and Families – the lives so profoundly affected in the name of the country must always be remembered.

    Like

  7. BLESS THEM ALL.

    Heroes at Home and Overseas!

    Like

  8. A good Mothers’ Day tribute.

    Like

  9. The amount of families that lost someone in the Wars include my own and my wife. The holes made by their sacrifice seem to have faded. The question of what they might have become or contributed to the world always makes me wonder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

