What will you tell your grandchildren?

IN HONOR OF MILITARY APPRECIATION MONTH

Here is a thought provoking post that partly explains why I do my own posts week after week. I hope you enjoy Patrick’s site as much as I do.

theleansubmariner

All of us will leave a legacy when we pass to the next world. Some will be lengthy and some will be rather modest. I am at the age where I read the obituaries in the local paper. Its kind of ghoulish in a way since I am not from here and really don’t know any of the names or families. But I like to see the written stories of people who lived a full life as well as those who have been tragically taken before their time.

DSC00941

I especially like to read the stories with American Flags printed right above their names. For the last few years, there have been more and more and their stories could fill whole books. They served in the European Theater, the Pacific campaign, D-day, the Battle of the Bulge, the Philippines and on and on. They wore Army or Air Corps green, Navy…

View original post 729 more words

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on May 3, 2014, in Korean War, Uncategorized, Vietnam, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. A very insightful and compelling post.
    The political aspects of the post were well described, and can only be considered correct in the world arena of greed and corruption.
    Ian

    Like

  2. The words from the gentleman need not be read or heard by the “less than majority”. However, it is unfortunate “the majority” will never read or accept his words. They themselves have become the enemy. Harsh, perhaps, but I don’t believe the Founding Fathers would approve.

    Like

  3. Thought-provoking post. I didn’t have good answers to his questions.

    Like

    • That’s exactly how I felt, that’s why I put the question out there for my friends and get everyone else’s opinion. Thanks for coming by, Jacqui.

      Like

  4. Who was it who said, when asked how he felt? “I wake up each morning, I go downstairs and read the obituary column over breakfast. If I’m not in it I go to work.”

    I agree the post is compelling, and it is hard for me to comment objectively from my side of the pond, but personally I am more optimistic. I am glad, for example, I do not live under what would by now be at least the twelfth Reich. I’m reminded that evolution takes not one, but a thousand generations, and how easy it is to lose perspective when you view change from within. Generally speaking, I guess the universe is unfolding as it should, and temporary aberrations will dissolve with time – maybe not for our children, but for our children’s children? Anyway, good to remember that when Pandora let the lid off that jar one thing remained inside.

    Like

    • A very nice comment, Frederick. I am happy everyone feels free to speak their mind here. I will be curious to see if this gets any feed-back. Have a great day!

      Like

    • Love the positive attitude, Frederick. I worry for my children, but truthfully, man is nothing if not a problem solver. I think adversity inspires us so maybe–all the adversity on this side of the pond–maybe I should be thrilled at the opportunities for my children.

      Like

  5. Great reblog! So, true. It’s now pretty much up to the younger ones. Without imparting what we know, they’ll never understand.

    Like

  6. I regularly read obits out of curiosity. I also like to take extra time to visit older sections of cemetaries on Memorial Day so I can contemplate the historical etchings on many of the tombstones.

    Like

  7. Thanks for reblogging that. A compelling post….

    Like

    • Thank you, Weggie! When I like something, I have to cross my fingers and hope all my friends will too – I don’t want to let anyone down.

      Like

Leave a Reply

