You Ain’t Got A Thing, If You Ain’t Got That Swing !

This was a fun topic to research and write about. There were so many excellent bands, please let us know you opinions and… LET’S DANCE!

"Greatest Generation" Life Lessons

The Big Band Era

By: gpcox

https://pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com

“You ain’t got a thing, if you ain’t got that Swing!”

Swing was a verb that musicians used long before press agents turned it into a noun or adjective to describe both an attitude toward music and a special way of performing it.  “Swing” suggests rhythm and a regular propulsive oscillation, a form of jazz that is still influencing music today.  There are many instruments reinforcing the others, then other times, playing against each other and a solo instrument playing against a background.  The jazz form traveled north out of New Orleans in the 1890’s and slammed into the Chicago scene in the 1920’s.

The beginnings can be traced back to Fletcher Henderson in New York and Bernie Moten in Kansas City.  Fletcher and his brother Horace created the pattern for swing arrangements and was the first to train a big band to…

View original post 1,337 more words

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on October 8, 2013, in Home Front, Uncategorized, WWII and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Doo wah, doo wah doo wah, doo wah, doo wah!

    Like

  2. Love this! Recently found out that Glenn Miller’s wife Helen was the sister of one of my uncles by marriage. My parents had never mentioned this connection, but loved dancing to big bands coming to Elitch Gardens in Denver, CO when they were young. Thanks for the memories 🙂

    Like

    • This was my pleasure, a topic I enjoyed since childhood. What a wonderful discovery for you. I can’t imagine why they would never mention this to you. Were you always interested in music?

      Like

  3. I did feel like dancing after I read your post; I really got in to the swing of things 🙂

    Like

  4. For anyone who wishes to learn how to swing dance In our area, they must hang out at the local senior citizens center.

    Like

  5. Great music and dancing!

    Like

  6. This post deserves to be seen by EVERYBODY who loves music, and especially the greats of the Swing era. I’ll be sharing it on FB and Twitter and Google+. Where to start giving you my favorites? My mom had 78s of Tommy Dorsey and Glenn Miller that I found as a young teen. Fell in love with Frank Sinatra singing “I’ll Never Smile Again” and Miller’s “String of Pearls”. The movies helped introduce me to more “big band”. Not only the cool bio-pics about Benny Goodman and Glenn Miller and the Dorsey Brothers, but those great musicals that featured Kay Kayser (did you catch the typo?) Artie Shaw and others. Ella Fitzgerald is the most wonderful voice in history. Can’t tell you how excited I was to read this post. This music is truly one of my great loves and influenced my whole life.

    Like

  7. I left you a comment on the other site, but I’ll also leave you laurels here. And just how long would I have to apologise if I said I REALLY liked the swing music from “Xanadu”? 😉

    Like

  8. Enjoyed your posts. You might look at http://www.algoldstein.wordpress.com for a personal diary of the wa in the Pacific.

    Like

  9. Hi, not realizing I wasn’t on your blog when I saw this post, I left a comment for you on that post… On another topic, I’ve written a post that might be right up your alley. Not being well informed on how stories might be submitted to another’s blog, I’m hoping you can let me know how I can share it with you in case you’d like to publish it in your history blog.

    Like

  10. A great review of the entertainers of that time.
    Lillian

    Like

  11. This was great dance music – my mother taught me how to jive/jitterbug and it’s come back into style a couple of times over the decades – it’s amazing to see how the various generations take to jiving and the music that started it all lives on.

    Like

  12. Those were the days hey. Great music, great bands. I went to see The Glen Miller Band earlier this year. One of my favourites. They were fantastic! I always said that I was born in the wrong era 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

