Guest Post – It was hard to keep the good times rollin’ – gpcox

Hope you will all read the article I prepared for Greatest Generation Lessons this month and leave a comment for us. Would you like to see more guest posts? What topic would you care to see?

"Greatest Generation" Life Lessons

It was hard to keep the good times rollin’

Today’s Guest Post from gpcox continues the theme of transportation started last month with information about cars and trucks. This post expands transportation to include the variety of ways to travel in the 1940’s. Settle back and enjoy a unique look at this period of our history.

Columnist Marquis Childs said after Pearl Harbor: “Nothing will ever be the same.”  Thirty-five years later he added: “It never has and never will be.”

Since it appears that many of our readers enjoyed the previous guest post concerning the auto industry during the World War II era, I decided to remain on that same train of thought this month. (Yes, the pun was intended.)  I managed to discover quite a lot of information.

We need to remember that in 1941 as much as 40% of U.S. families lived below the poverty level, approximately…

View original post 984 more words

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on April 9, 2013, in Home Front, Uncategorized, WWII and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Not just this information, but lots of what you put up here is very interesting. Thank you… I’ll keep coming back!

    Like

  2. You have a fascinating, interesting and fun website. It’s very refreshing to read about the times and the people who made America great. Thanks! My dad experienced WWII and I’ve heard some of his stories, but with your efforts I’m sure I’ll get a much better perspective of it all. Thanks!

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed the post and I remember most of it although I was in grade school at the time.
    Lillian

    Like

    • If you remember anything, always feel free to tell us about it. Like my cousin, he was in grade school, sometimes I need a crowbar to get a memory out of him.

      Like

  4. It was a great post. Very informative.

    Like

  5. I think I asked once before about 8th Armored Div WW2. Someone (military history blog)was asking for stuff, was it you ? I may have some things of Dad to contribute. He was boxer at Camp Polk and tank sergeant. He was ill when that unit shipped out, to North Africa, I think , and remained stateside giving exhibition bouts around the camps.

    Like

    • It wasn’t me, but always feel free to include stories here. Yes, my father was at Camp POlk for additional “swamp training” before heading to Camp Stoneman.

      Like

  6. Pierre Lagacé

    So informative about the war years and its effects on people at home. No wonder people were kissing all over the place on V-E and V-J days.
    Great post from a baby-boomer who never went through all this but pays homage to all who did and writes about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

