The World in 1940 by gpcox

Judy Hardy was kind enough to invite me to guest write on her blog. This is what appeared on her site yesterday. I have re-blogged the item for your comments and opinions. For one – should we continue the guest writing or no? Thank you for taking the time to stop by.

"Greatest Generation" Life Lessons

On November 16th, I received an email from WordPress.com telling me that gpcox had liked several of my posts and suggested that I check out their Blog, pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com, which I did. I read about the 11th Airborne Division in the war in the Pacific. I also enjoyed reading, with humor, a letter from Smitty to his Mom describing a recipe for “Jungle Juice”. The similarities between our posts was not lost on me and I sent a comment to gpcox. Since we had both started Blogging in September of this year, I thought we might be able to connect and give each other encouragement and advice.

As we emailed back and forth I learned that there were more similarities than I had imagined. Our fathers were born in the same year and drafted within months of each other. There were also sharp contrasts between our Blogs. Mine…

View original post 900 more words

About GP Cox

Everett Smith served with the Headquarters Company, 187th Regiment, 11th A/B Division during WWII. This site is in tribute to my father, "Smitty." GPCox is a member of the 11th Airborne Association. Member # 4511 and extremely proud of that fact!

Posted on December 9, 2012, in Uncategorized, WWII. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I now have two fascinating blogs to read. 🙂

    Like

  2. GP,
    Congrats, I have nominated you for a Liebster award. See the info on my blog page http://www.youwhoineverknew.wordpress.com
    Kassie aka “Mom”

    Like

  3. I had noted that Judy had asked to collaborate in one her comments and was happy to see today’s post. When Ken Burns did the series, The War he presented it with the multiple viewpoints of different soldiers in various aspects and places of the war. In doing so, I learned so many facts about the war that I had never known before.

    Probably the most significant part for me was learning about the war in the Pacific. Growing up in school very little was said about the Pacific beyond the bombing of Pearl harbor. My generation had only been given information about the European Theater. Needless to say, as an educator I was shocked with how little I knew and overwhelmed with the courage and integrity of all those who fought or contributed to the successful outcome of this war.

    The world would be a much different place had events transpired in another way. Since watching this documentary, I have taken the opportunity to talk to anyone who is willing, about their experience during this time, whether in combat or not as they each tell a part of the whole. It is the whole which truly shows the depth of character of our earlier generations and demonstrates the true greatness of America.

    Like

  4. I love your blog.It gives me a different and up close and personal perspective on WWII. A lot of what I knew about the warconcerned what was happening in Europe. “Smitty” tells of a different war with style and wit.I am “following” your blog and am fascinated with the journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

